March Madness Yoga Challenge

One thing about being a personal trainer that we don’t like to tell you: we love to eat. And we are hungry almost 90% of the time.

Basically, we eat what we want, in moderation. Not in moderation. It depends. Considering that I am surrounded by fitness, listening to client goals and feeding off of individual inspiration, community togetherness and general health, I like to set my own goals to offset my fervent eating habits.

And let me tell you, they are never easy.

There are months, weeks, days, and hours wherein I am downright mean. “A glutton for self punishment” as my yoga instructor termed it. Some days, I work out for 3+ hours for no special reason at all. Others, I run sprint intervals like a mad woman for a simple 20 minutes. Double-unders with a jump rope just make more sense. If I can make a weight training or body weight move harder, why wouldn’t I? I am fiendishly competitive. I am one of those sore losers that secretly pouts after losing everything from a game of pick up basketball to a round of darts at a sports bar. If I don’t stand a chance to win—this sounds awful—I’d rather not play. So, when a challenge arises that I know I can do, I’m going to drag my tired, sweaty ass from my workout to my yoga mat 20 days in the month of March. Why? Why not.

I invented the March Madness Yoga Challenge last year. I was gearing up for a trip to Napa and bored with my daily fitness routine. Why not try to go to a hot vinyasa yoga class everyday in March? Once I said I was going to try, I knew I was all in. For 31 straight days, I sweat, stretched, dripped, stumbled, balanced and strengthened my way through Corepower yoga’s impressive mix of yoga classes. In 31 days, I fell head over heels in love with yoga, and I have been a regular ever since.

The day after Thanksgiving, I did the challenge again. In the 30 days between Thanksgiving and Christmas, I went to a hot yoga class everyday. This time, I knew what to expect, shying away from classes that were debatably boring, avoiding instructors that talked too much or too little, and obsessing over the oddly perfect balance of alternative rock and Warrior 2. I learned inversions and arm balances, how to touch my toes (with my knees slightly less bent) and that “happy baby” looks freaking awkward but it’s a stretch that every adult should do (probably in a dark room).

An entire year has gone by since my first yoga challenge, and I am pumped to do it again. I am currently on Day 3 of yoga, having discovered that Yoga Sculpt is equivalent to a bootcamp in a 90 degree room. It’s a respectable workout and I can’t wait to incorporate it into the challenge. So, here we go. I will blog about yoga. I will blog about food. And it will be marvelous! DSC_0563 2

This entry was published on March 5, 2013 at 5:08 pm and is filed under Yoga Challenge. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

