Huevos rancheros

DSC_1152

There is nothing more comforting than a big skillet of baked eggs with fire roasted tomatoes, spicy jalapenos, and lime crema. I have been eyeing the recipe for baked ranchero eggs in my Smitten Kitchen cookbook for a while. Who can resist bubbly cheese? I happened to have every ingredient—except black beans, why don’t I have black beans?—in my kitchen this afternoon, so I took a stab at it. Side note: A few weeks ago, I bought crema mexicana and I have since used it multiple times. Go buy some. It’s versatile and tasty.

DSC_1141

Anyway, the recipe that I adapted from the original (here is a similar version) goes as follows:

Blend until smooth:

  • One 28-oz. can of fire roasted tomatoes
  • Spicy pepper (I used half of a red jalapeno)
  • Half of a white onion, chopped
  • One clove of garlic

Season to taste with salt and pepper and throw the mixture in an oven safe skillet (I used my all-clad pan). Simmer for about 10 minutes.

DSC_1160

Meanwhile, heat oven to 450 degrees. Cut 4 small corn tortillas into strips and spread them out onto a baking sheet. Brush with olive oil, sprinkle with salt and bake for about 6-8 minutes, or until they are golden brown. Set aside.

Crack 6 eggs into the tomato mixture, evenly distributed throughout the skillet. Cover and simmer for about 8 minutes (eggs should not be  fully cooked). Sprinkle a blend of cheeses over the eggs and broil in the oven for about 4 minutes, or until the cheese bubbles.

Remove from oven, and sprinkle with tortilla strips. Mix crema with salt and lime juice and pour a desired amount over the skillet.

I really like this recipe, and I didn’t miss the black beans (or 12 eggs!) from the original recipe. Sprinkling the tortilla strips on top keeps them from getting soggy. Enjoy.

This entry was published on February 6, 2013 at 8:24 pm and is filed under Meals. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

