Fressen Artisan Bakery

IMG_1667

I know food should not be viewed as a coping mechanism, but today I admit to drowning my sorrows in a Bavarian croissant. More on that later.

Chip Kelly, the (now) former head coach of the Oregon Ducks, has gone pro. With the Philadelphia Eagles. Well, shit. As fans, we all knew it was coming. We just didn’t know when. Or where. What we should have assumed is that with Chip, knowing isn’t really knowing at all. And in classic Chip nature, after every Duck fan breathed a hefty sigh of relief after he turned down the Cleveland Browns offer, and right in the thick of the post-Fiesta Bowl happiness haze, that bastard (and I mean it in the most respectful sense) calls a trick play on us all. On a random Wednesday morning. Oh, Chipper. When the game of football is your life, and offensive genius is your forte, well, then… this unexpected play makes me respect you even more. And I wish you the best.

So, back to the point of this post. Well, the food angle at least. Immediately after I heard the news, I got in my car and drove to Fressen Bakery. I’m not ashamed at all. This was my first time visiting their new storefront in NE Portland. It’s not much to look at, but I wasn’t in the mood to look. I was in the mood to eat. And eat—the Bavarian croissant that I used to allow myself on occasional Sundays at the Hillsdale Farmer’s Market—I did. It’s freaking good. I am not a croissant connoisseur, and I butcher the name every time I order one, but I was in a little Bavarian bakery in NE Portland. A far cry from France. And the croissant, with it’s pretzel-like salt on the exterior and it’s buttery interior, is worth the verbal butchery.

Visit the bakery for more treats “baked in the German tradition”. I grabbed a sample of the almond cake, and liked what I tasted. I also picked up a fruit danish for my mom, being the pastry-loving woman that she is. Please note: she’s in great shape. I can’t help but think that Chip, given his trademark gobble (again, I mean this in the most respectful sense), is a pastry lover, too. So, Chip, anytime you want a Bavarian croissant or a loaf of rye, just holler.

This entry was published on January 16, 2013 at 9:38 pm and is filed under Sweets. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

